This is the "Home" page of the "Referencing Sources - Writing a Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Referencing Sources - Writing a Bibliography   Tags: bibliographies;, bibliography;, citations;, citing;, plagiarism, referencing;  

How to avoid plagiarism by referencing material correctly and writing a bibliography
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2016 URL: http://collyers.libguides.com/referencing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

When you write an assignment or essay, it is very important that you acknowledge the source of anyone else's ideas that you have used or mentioned in your work. If you don't, you could be accused of plagiarism - a charge that is taken very seriously by teachers and exam boards

This guide will help you understand:

Why you need to reference your sources
Plagiarism and why you should take it seriously
Recognise the details needed to make up a citation/reference
How to use Word 2007 to quickly & easily incorporate citations and bibliography into your work
How to construct a citation/reference for a bibliography using the Harvard (APA) system (favoured by British exam boards)
How to construct a bibliography using the British Standard Numeric System (favoured by social science and science subjects)

 

Glossary of terms

Citation - the quoting of a source in support of a fact

Referencing - direction to the reader to a source used or referred to

Bibliography - list of sources used in preparation of the essay, report etc

Bibliographic System - a recognised style of creating a bibliogaphy to ensure consistency of reference

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jane Crowley
Contact Info
Available in the LRC Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.
01403 216548
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Media

Ofqual guidance

Read the exam boards' guidance!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip